Veterinary Clinical Sciences

The faculty members of the Department of Veterinary Clinical Sciences instruct veterinary students, interns, and residents in the art and science of veterinary medicine, undertake clinical research for the benefit of both animals and humans, and provide specialized care for animal patients from Louisiana and surrounding states.

The Department currently has over 55 faculty members and more than 45 interns and residents who support state-of-the-art patient care in the Veterinary Teaching Hospital.

VCS supports graduate programs at the MS and PhD levels supporting an average of fifteen graduate students. Most MS programs are linked to residencies, which can be applied for through the Veterinary Internship and Residency Matching Program. Programs not linked to residencies should be arranged through individual faculty members.

Research and Facilities

VCS faculty members and graduate students conduct clinical research for the benefit of animals and humans. Research areas include equine health, ophthalmology, theriogenology (reproduction), surgery, dermatology, oncology, orthopedics, and more.

Our People

Frank Andrews

Frank Andrews

DVM, DACVIM

Department Head

Director, Equine Health Studies Program

Professor of Equine Medicine

EMAIL DR. ANDREWS

Name Position Service Email
Hugo Gonzalez Intern Anesthesia hgonza10@lsu.edu 
Kristen McCurdy Intern Equine Medicine & Surgery kmccur6@lsu.edu 
Ana Rangel Intern Equine Medicine & Surgery arangel@lsu.edu 
Hannah Neill Intern Food Animal Medicine & Surgery hneill2@lsu.edu 
Alejandro Zamot Intern Food Animal Medicine & Surgery azamot1@lsu.edu 
Amber Moses Intern Medical Oncology amoses10@lsu.edu 
Hannah Gafen Intern Ophthalmology hgafen1@lsu.edu 
Kyra Kelly Intern Shelter Medicine kkell81@lsu.edu 
Myriam  Martin-Benito Intern Small Animal Internal Medicine mbenito@lsu.edu 
Reanna Cantrall Intern Small Animal Medicine & Surgery rcantr4@lsu.edu 
Lezith Chavez Intern Small Animal Medicine & Surgery lchave5@lsu.edu 
Priscilla Groves Intern Small Animal Medicine & Surgery pkgroves@lsu.edu 
Conner Hayes Intern Small Animal Medicine & Surgery chayes10@lsu.edu 
Meghan Lancaster Intern Small Animal Medicine & Surgery malanca6@lsu.edu 
Aiden Masri Intern Small Animal Medicine & Surgery amasri1@lsu.edu 
Shelby Nester Intern Small Animal Medicine & Surgery sneste3@lsu.edu 
Ellis Wright Intern Small Animal Medicine & Surgery ewrigh10@lsu.edu 
Kathryn Paige Spivey Intern Small Animal Surgery kspive5@lsu.edu 
Roman Torres Intern Small Animal Surgery rtorre10@lsu.edu 
Lauren Dean Intern Small Animal Surgery Lab ldean10@lsu.edu 
Connor Jacobson Intern Zoo Medicine and Small Animal Medicine cjacob10@lsu.edu 
Megan Roeder Intern Zoological Medicine and Small Animal Medicine mroede5@lsu.edu 
Gabriel Castro-Cuellar Resident Anesthesia & Analgesia castrocuellar1@lsu.edu 
Kathryn Metcalf Resident Clinical Pathology kmetcalf1@lsu.edu 
Nadia Richmond Resident Clinical Pathology nkelly5@lsu.edu 
Daniel McCarthy Resident Companion Animal Surgery mccarthy1@lsu.edu 
Chi-Yen Wu Resident Dermatology cwu19@lsu.edu 
Carolyn Blank Resident Diagnostic Imaging cblank8@lsu.edu 
Smaantha Miles Resident Diagnostic Imaging samanthamiles1@lsu.edu 
Victoria Van Resident Diagnostic Imaging van1@lsu.edu 
Kassandra Wilson Resident Diagnostic Imaging kwilson1@lsu.edu 
Ashok Padmanabhan Resident Emergency & Critical Care apadma3@lsu.edu 
Alasdair Botting Resident Equine Medicine abotti2@lsu.edu 
Jose Santana Resident Equine Medicine jsanta10@lsu.edu 
Michael St. Blanc Resident Equine Medicine mstbla2@lsu.edu 
Lawrence Kadic Resident Equine Surgery kadic1@lsu.edu 
Francisco Morales Resident Equine Surgery fmoral5@lsu.edu 
Christopher Robinson Resident Medical Oncology crobinson4@lsu.edu 
Christopher Alling Resident Ophthalmology alling1@lsu.edu 
Melanie Mironovich Resident Ophthalmology mironovich1@lsu.edu 
Yen-Hao Lai Resident Radiation Oncology ylai@lsu.edu 
Laura Adams Resident Small Animal Internal Medicine ladams10@lsu.edu 
Loni Albrecht Resident Small Animal Internal Medicine lalbrecht@lsu.edu 
Tifin Batts Resident Small Animal Internal Medicine batts1@lsu.edu 
Mary Kate Bollman Resident Small Animal Internal Medicine mbollm1@lsu.edu 
Jamie Hui Resident Small Animal Internal Medicine jhui2@lsu.edu 
Aki Otomo Resident Small Animal Surgery otomo1@lsu.edu 
Tsz Ching "Achilles" Tang Resident Small Animal Surgery tching@lsu.edu 
Fional Herzog Resident Theriogenology fherzog@lsu.edu 
Corinne Mayer Resident Zoological Medicine corinnemayer1@lsu.edu 
Laken Russell Resident Zoological Medicine lrussell2@lsu.edu 

Name Program Mentor Email
Kalie Beckers DVM/PhD Jenny Sones kbeckers@lsu.edu 
Priscilla Devora DVM/PhD Mark Mitchell pdevor2@lsu.edu 
Katie Metcalf MS Shannon Dehghanpir kmetcalf1@lsu.edu 
Nadia Richmond MS Shannon Dehghanpir nkelly5@lsu.edu 
Xiao Niu PhD Mandi Lopez xniu2@lsu.edu 
Aki Otomo MS   otomo1@lsu.edu 
Daniel McCarthy MS   mccarthy1@lsu.edu 
Kimberly Boykin PhD Mark Mitchell kboykin@lsu.edu 
Chi-Yen Wu MS Cherie Pucheu-Haston cwu19@lsu.edu 
Viviane Gomes PhD Carlos Pinto gomes3@lsu.edu 
Gabriel Castro-Cuellar MS Patricia Queiroz-Williams castrocuellar1@lsu.edu 
Lawrence Kadic MS Laura Riggs kadic1@lsu.edu 
Alasdair Botting MS Frank Andrews botting1@lsu.edu 
Renee Carter PhD Carlos Pinto reneecarter@lsu.edu 
Corinne Mayer MS Javier Nevarez corinnemayer1@lsu.edu 
Alexandra Mason MS Mark Mitchell mason1@lsu.edu 
Rita Aoun PhD Mandi Lopez raoun1@lsu.edu 
Takashi Taguchi PhD Mandi Lopez ttaguc2@lsu.edu 
Pengju Wang MS Mandi Lopez pwang1@lsu.edu 
Md. Sanower Hossain PhD Mandi Lopez mhoss45@lsu.edu 

 

Name Title Area Email
Theresa Cosper-Roberts Associate Clinical Specialist Surgical Training Center tcosper@lsu.edu 
Lee Ann Fugler, DVM, PhD Post-doctoral Researcher Large Animal lfugler@lsu.edu 
Frank Garza Research Associate Large Animal fgarza1@lsu.edu 
Beth Grandt Research Associate Large and Small Animal bgrandt@lsu.edu 
Nikole Ineck Research Associate Large and Small Animal nineck@lsu.edu 
Sarah Keeton Research Associate Mixed Services sorlik1@lsu.edu 
Michael Keowen Research Associate Large Animal mkeowe1@lsu.edu 
Victor Medina, MVZ Research Associate Large Animal vmedina@lsu.edu 
Rita Perry Research Associate Large Animal rperry9@lsu.edu 
Catherine Takawira Research  Associate LECOR ctakawira@lsu.edu 

Mailing Address

Veterinary Clinical Sciences

LSU School of Veterinary Medicine

Baton Rouge, LA 70803

Name Title Duties Email
Debbie Blanchard Academic Coordinator Faculty, Staff, Locum Contact dblanchard@lsu.edu 
Kevin Oubre Academic Coordinator House Officer, Graduate Studies, PAVE/ECFVG Contact koubre2@lsu.edu