People

Tenure Stream Faculty

Photo Name Position Contact Research Areas
Jon Cogburn Jon Cogburn

Professor;

jcogbu1@lsu.edu
105 Coates
225-578-2272
 
Deborah Goldgaber Deborah Goldgaber Associate Professor dgoldgaber@lsu.edu
117 Coates Hall
225-578-7399
Contemporary French phil., 19th-20th cen. continental, feminist phil., phenomenology
Usha Nathan Usha Nathan Assistant Professor

unathan@lsu.edu

110 Coates Hall

225-578-5508

Ancient philosophy
François Raffoul François Raffoul

Professor

Section Head

Director of Graduate Studies

fraffo1@lsu.edu
106 Coates
225-578-2278
Contemporary continental philosophy, contemporary French thought
Jeff Roland Jeffrey Roland

Associate Professor

Director of Undergraduate Studies

jroland@lsu.edu
108 Coates
225-578-2388
Philosophy of mathematics, epistemology, philosophy of science, logic

 

Instructors

Photo Name Position Contact Research Areas
Chris Blakley Chris Blakley Senior Instructor

blakley@lsu.edu

210B Coates

225-578-5158

 
Chris Wells Chris Wells Instructor

cwells10@lsu.edu

118 Coates

225-578-0790

Ethics and politics in contemporary Continental philosophy, especially Emmanuel Levinas
 

Affiliate Faculty

Photo Name Position Contact Research Areas
Juan J Colomina-Alminana Juan J. Colomina-Alminana Assistant Professor (Affiliate)

jcolom3@lsu.edu

309 Hodges

225-578-5175

 
Ken Levy Ken Levy Associate Professor (Affiliate)

ken.levy@law.lsu.edu

420 Law Center

225-578-7365

Criminal theory, ethics, free will and responsibility, paradoxes
  Alexander Orwin Assistant Professor (Affiliate)

aorwin1@lsu.edu

202 Stubbs Hall

225-578-2553

Political theory (ancient, medieval, modern); Islamic political thought; Comparative political theory (especially Islamic and Western)
John Protevi John Protevi Professor (Affiliate)

protevi@lsu.edu

408 Hodges

225-578-6664

20th century French philosophy (Foucault and Deleuze), enaction in cognitive and life science
 

Emeritus Faculty

Photo Name Position Contact Research Areas
Ed Henderson Ed Henderson Professor Emeritus & Department Chair Emeritus ehender@lsu.edu  
Gregory Schufreider Gregory Schufreider Professor Emeritus gschufr@lsu.edu  
Husain Sarkar Husain Sarkar Professor Emeritus husains@lsu.edu

Descartes, Kant, ethics, and philosophy of science

Mary Sirridge Mary Sirridge Professor Emerita pisirr@lsu.edu 

 

 

Philosophy M.A. Students

Name Office Contact
Melissa Altsman   maltsm1@lsu.edu
Gabriel Connor 308 Coates gconno7@lsu.edu
Danny Felty   dfelty2@lsu.edu
Phillip Gandy 312 Coates  pgandy5@lsu.edu
Lama Hantash 309 Coates lhanta2@lsu.edu
Christopher Johnson 314 Coates cjoh514@lsu.edu
Luke Lambright 308 Coates  llambr1@lsu.edu
Prat Parhi 312 Coates pparhi1@lsu.edu
Kuy Pepper   kpeppe3@lsu.edu
Chris Rinderle   crinde3@lsu.edu
Joshua Severud 315 Coates jsever5@lsu.edu
Mike Waldeck 316 Coates jwalde5@lsu.edu

 

Staff

Photo Name Position Contact
Margaret Toups Margaret Toups Administrative Assistant to the Department Head/Chairman mtoups2@lsu.edu
102 Coates
225-578-2188
 photo of Lisa Dieckman Lisa Dieckman Coordinator of Academic Area 1 ldieckman@lsu.edu
102 Coates Hall
225-578-2220