People

Tenure Stream Faculty

Photo Name Position Contact Research Areas
Hannah Bacon Hannah Bacon

Assistant Professor

Director of Graduate Studies

117 Coates Hall
225-578-2380
Social and Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Law & Incarceration, and Continental Philosophy. 
Jon Cogburn Jon Cogburn

Professor

Department Chair

jcogbu1@lsu.edu
107 Coates
225-578-2272
Metaphysics (analytic and continental),  Philosophy of Art, Philosophy of Mind
Deborah Goldgaber Deborah Goldgaber

Associate Professor
Section Head

dgoldgaber@lsu.edu
208A Coates Hall
225-578-1043
Contemporary French phil., 19th-20th cen. Continental, Feminist Phil., Phenomenology
Anthony Kelley Anthony Kelley

Assistant Professor

210 Coates Hall
225-578-6311
Theoretical and Practical Ethics
Usha Nathan Usha Nathan Assistant Professor
110 Coates Hall
225-578-5508
Ancient Philosophy
François Raffoul François Raffoul

Professor

fraffo1@lsu.edu
106 Coates
225-578-2278
Contemporary continental philosophy, contemporary French thought
Jeff Roland Jeffrey Roland

Associate Professor

Chair of the Philosophy Undergraduate Studies Committee

jroland@lsu.edu
108 Coates
225-578-2388
Philosophy of mathematics, epistemology, philosophy of science, logic

 

Post Doctoral Researcher

Photo Name Position Contact Research Areas
Michael Ardoline Michael Ardoline Instructor

michaelardoline@lsu.edu

208A

Continental Philosophy, Analytic Metaphysics, and the Philosophy of Physics, Logic and Mathematics

 

Instructors

Photo Name Position Contact Research Areas
Chris Blakley Chris Blakley Distinguished Instructor

blakley@lsu.edu

210B Coates

225-578-5158

 
Chris Wells Chris Wells Instructor

cwells10@lsu.edu

118 Coates

225-578-0790

Ethics and politics in contemporary Continental philosophy, especially Emmanuel Levinas
 

Affiliate Faculty

Photo Name Position Contact Research Areas
Juan J Colomina-Alminana Juan J. Colomina-Alminana Assistant Professor (Affiliate)

jcolom3@lsu.edu

309 Hodges

225-578-5175

 
Ken Levy Ken Levy Associate Professor (Affiliate)

ken.levy@law.lsu.edu

420 Law Center

225-578-7365

Criminal theory, ethics, free will and responsibility, paradoxes
  Alexander Orwin Assistant Professor (Affiliate)

aorwin1@lsu.edu

202 Stubbs Hall

225-578-2553

Political theory (ancient, medieval, modern); Islamic political thought; Comparative political theory (especially Islamic and Western)
John Protevi John Protevi Professor (Affiliate)

protevi@lsu.edu

408 Hodges

225-578-6664

20th century French philosophy (Foucault and Deleuze), enaction in cognitive and life science
 

Emeritus Faculty

Photo Name Position Contact Research Areas
Ed Henderson Ed Henderson Professor Emeritus & Department Chair Emeritus ehender@lsu.edu  
Gregory Schufreider Gregory Schufreider Professor Emeritus gschufr@lsu.edu  
Husain Sarkar Husain Sarkar Professor Emeritus husains@lsu.edu

Descartes, Kant, ethics, and philosophy of science

Mary Sirridge Mary Sirridge Professor Emerita pisirr@lsu.edu 

 

 

Philosophy M.A. Students

Name Office Contact
Daniel Kim 308 Coates dkim46@lsu.edu
Mfon-Abasi Obong 309 Coates mobong1@lsu.edu
Taiwo Akande 314 Coates takand2@lsu.edu
Kebron Wormley 312 Coates kworml1@lsu.edu
Frank Ellman 316 Coates fellma1@lsu.edu
Jess Burroughs 315 Coates jburro4@lsu.edu
Brian Sopan 316 Coates bsopan1@lsu.edu

 

Staff

Photo Name Position Contact
  Kimberly Roser Assistant to the Chair

kroser@lsu.edu

102 Coates Hall

225-578-0696

  Carrie Powell Coordinator of Office Operations

cpowell3@lsu.edu

102 Coates Hall