People

Faculty

Photo Name Position Contact Research Areas
Chris Blakley Chris Blakley Senior Instructor blakley@lsu.edu
210B Coates
(225) 578-5158
 
Jon Cogburn Jon Cogburn

Associate Professor;
Director of Graduate Studies

jcogbu1@lsu.edu
105 Coates
(225) 578-2272
 
Deborah Goldgaber Deborah Goldgaber Assistant Professor dgoldgaber@lsu.edu
117 Coates Hall
(225) 578-7399
Contemporary French phil., 19th-20th cen. continental, feminist phil., phenomenology
 Ken Levy

Ken Levy

Associate Professor (Affiliate)

ken.levy@law.lsu.edu
420 Law Center
(225) 578-7365
Criminal theory, ethics, free will and responsibility, paradoxes
John Protevi John Protevi Professor (Affiliate) protevi@lsu.edu
408 Hodges
(225) 578-6664
20th cen. French phil. (Foucault and Deleuze), enaction in cognitive and life science
François Raffoul François Raffoul Professor;
Section Head
fraffo1@lsu.edu
106 Coates
(225) 578-2278
Contemporary continental philosophy, contemporary French thought
Jeff Roland Jeffrey Roland Associate Professor jroland@lsu.edu
108 Coates
(225) 578-2388
Philosophy of mathematics, epistemology, philosophy of science, logic
Michael L. Rolfsen Michael L. Rolfsen Adjunct mrolfsen@brclinic.com
(225) 246-4514
Practicing physician at Baton Rouge Clinic; biomedical ethics
Husain Sarkar Husain Sarkar Professor husains@lsu.edu
113 Coates
(225) 578-2277
Descartes, Kant, ethics, and philosophy of science
Gregory Schufreider Gregory Schufreider Professor;
Chair
gschufr@lsu.edu
116 Coates
(225) 578-2275
 
Chris Wells Chris Wells Instructor cwells10@lsu.edu
316 Coates
(225) 578-2638
Ethics and politics in contemporary Continental philosophy, especially  Emmanuel Levinas.

 

Emeritus Faculty

Photo Name Position Contact Research Areas
Ed Henderson Ed Henderson Professor Emeritus & Department Chair Emeritus ehender@lsu.edu  
Mary Sirridge Mary Sirridge Professor Emerita pisirr@lsu.edu 
112 Coates
(225) 578-2276

 

 

Philosophy M.A. Students

Name Office Contact
Irfan Alam   ialam1@lsu.edu 
Kenji Arai 314 Coates karai4@lsu.edu
Andy Babinski 316 Coates ababi34@lsu.edu
Simeon Burns 308 Coates  sburns10@lsu.edu
Dakota Dispensire 110 Coates ddispe1@lsu.edu
Phillip Gandy 312 Coates  pgandy5@lsu.edu
Michael Harter 312 Coates mharte1@lsu.edu
Luke Lambright 315 Coates  llambr1@lsu.edu
Liam O'Mahony 309 Coates lomaho1@lsu.edu

 

Staff

Photo Name Position Contact
Margaret Toups Margaret Toups Administrative Assistant to the Department Head/Chairman mtoups2@lsu.edu
102 Coates
(225) 578-2188
 photo of Lisa Dieckman Lisa Dieckman Coordinator of Academic Area 1 ldieckman@lsu.edu
102 Coates Hall
(225)-578-2220