Faculty and Community Partners

The Executive Committee consists of faculty in both the School of Education’s Early Childhood Education program faculty with expertise in early childhood education and the School of Social Work’s Child & Family Studies program. faculty with expertise in child development. The faculty are actively engaged in both the academic preparation of teacher educators and care providers (birth to age eight) and a robust research program in early childhood education and child development.

Name Title Institution Department Email
Cynthia DiCarlo Executive Director LSU Education cdicar2@lsu.edu
Jennifer Baumgartner Member-at-large LSU Education jbaum@lsu.edu
Erin Harmeyer Member-at-large LSU Social Work eharmeyer@lsu.edu
Brittany Wittenberg Member-at-large LSU Social Work bwittenberg@lsu.edu

The Louisiana Affiliated consists of faculty from multiple disciplines across the state who work with young children. These faculty have research and academic focus on the early childhood population.

Name Institution Department Email
Alica Benton LSU Education abento9@lsu.edu 
Katie Cherry LSU Psychology pskatie@lsu.edu
Chien-Jen Chiang LSU Human Sciences & Education chiang@lsu.edu
Michelle DeMeulaneare Louisiana Department of Education Early Childhood Ancillary Certificate Program michelle.demeulaneare@la.gov
Michelle Grantham-Caston LSU Education mgran19@lsu.edu 
Eileen Haebig LSU Communication Sciences & Disorders ehaebig1@lsu.edu
Dan Isbell LSU Music disbell1@lsu.edu
Charlene Jenkins LSU Education cjenkins1@lsu.edu 
Judy Myhand LSU Agriculture Nutrition & Food Sciences jmyhand@agcenter.lsu.edu
Kenyetta Nelson-Smith Southern University and A&M Family and Consumer Sciences kenyetta_nelson@subr.edu
Laura Piestryznski LSU Education lpiestrzynski@lsu.edu
Amanda Staiano LSU Pennington Biomedical Research Center Pediatric Obesity and Health Behavior amanda.staiano@pbrc.edu
Ann Marie Stanley LSU Music astanley1@lsu.edu

External Affiliated membership is available to faculty outside of Louisiana from a variety of disciplines whose work focuses on young children. External Affiliated members must be nominated by LSU faculty.

Name Institution Department Email
Elizabeth Beavers University of Houston-Clear Lake Education BeaversEA@UHCL.edu
Michelle Fazio Brunson Northwestern State University Early Childhood Education faziom@nsula.edu
Aaron Deris Minnesota State University Education aaron.deris@mnsu.edu
Lena Lee Miami University, OH Teacher Education leel@miamioh.edu
Carrie Ota Weber State University Child & Family Studies carrieota@weber.edu
Megan Purcell Purdue University Human Development & Family Studies meganpurcell@purdue.edu

Apply to Become an Affiliate

Thank you for your interest in becoming an affiliated member of the Early Childhood Education Institute at Louisiana State University. The ECE Institute is an umbrella organization created to promote research and dissemination of recommended practices in early childhood care and education.

We hope you will consider joining us. Please use the "Submit Application" button to provide us with more information on your work and areas of interest.

Submit Application

Questions? Email us at eceinstitute@lsu.edu.