Happy Award Honors Remarkable Contributions to Service-Learning 

February 14, 2022.

BATON ROUGE, LA --The Center for Community Engagement, Learning, and Leadership (CCELL) is pleased to announce the ten recipients of the 2021-2022 Happy Awards. Collectively, these faculty/staff, students and community partners represent the highest ideals of reciprocal service-learning partnerships. 

Traditionally, CCELL honors Happy Award winners at a reception with their family and friends. However, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the staff will not hold an in-person event again this year. CCELL will instead recognize this year’s honorees February 21-25, 2022 on Facebook and Instagram.

The honorees are:

“It is wonderful to see long-time practitioners of service-learning on campus, innovators in the field, steadfast community partners, and dynamic and engaged students honored with a ‘Happy’ this year,” said CCELL Director Dr. Sarah Becker. 

Happy Awards are given annually to ten individuals to recognize excellence in service-learning. CCELL initiated The "Happy" to commemorate former director Jan Shoemaker's ten years of distinguished service, commitment to educate and provide service for the common good. Happy Award recipients receive a commemorative lapel pin, which was designed by service-learning students based on input from Shoemaker's friends and colleagues. Award recipients can be faculty, students, and community partners. The nomination period occurs every fall.

head shot of Dr. Kevin Bongiorniheadshot of Dr. Cassandra Chaneyheadshot of Dr. Murelle G. Harrisonheadshot of Lauren Hynson

headshot of Seija Meauxheadshot of Dr. Darica Simonheadshot of Kennedy Simon

headshot of Ashton Weberheadshot of Dr. Chun Yang


Taylor Armer, Program Manager
Center for Community Engagement, Learning, and Leadership
(Phone) 225-578-4245