Faculty and Staff


Karanvir Aulakh, DVM, DACVS

Assistant Professor of Companion Animal Surgery

Alberto Gines, DVM, DECVS, MRCVS

Assistant Professor Small Animal Surgery- Orthopedics

Charles Walls, DVM, DACVS

Clinical Professor of Small Animal Surgery

What is a "boarded surgeon"?

The Small Animal Surgery Service at LSU is staffed with board-certified veterinary surgeons and those having residency training. A board-certified veterinary surgeon, or "Diplomate," is a veterinarian who has successfully completed the board certification process and received a diploma from the American College of Veterinary Surgeons (ACVS) or the  European College of Veterinary Surgeons.

To become board-certified in veterinary surgery, a veterinarian must complete a minimum of four additional years of advanced clinical training in surgery (usually a one-year internship and a three-year surgical residency program), perform research and have it published, and pass a rigorous certification examination.

Only veterinarians who have successfully completed a minimum of four years of advanced training and certification requirements are Diplomates of the American College of Veterinary Surgeons (ACVS) and have earned the right to be called specialists in veterinary surgery. 

House Officers

Daniel McCarthy, DVM, resident

Aki Otomo, DVM resident

Alissa St. Blanc, DVM (LSU SVM 2016), resident 



Jeannie Hansbrough

Sara Pauley

Melissa Welch


Misty Beaudine, LVT

Torri Collins-Cannon, RVT

Julia Perkins

Margaret Trenta, LVT

Alicia Welch