LSU Title IX Review

Title IX Review

In November 2020, media reports claimed that LSU mishandled several instances of sexual violence against students. These allegations have shaken the LSU community, and university administration has pledged to conduct a full investigation to right any wrongs that may have occurred and to ensure we are taking every possible step to protect and support our students against sexual violence.

Reports and Resources

Husch Blackwell Report

LSU secured the services of Husch Blackwell, a highly respected firm with exceptional expertise in these types of investigations, to explore the cases mentioned in the allegations and to evaluate our current policies relating to sexual assault.

Download the Full Report

NASA Compliance Review of Grant Recipient

NASA Title IX regulations provide for the periodic compliance review of NASA grant recipients. NASA recently conducted a compliance review of Louisiana State University's Department of Physics and Astronomy, to ensure that beneficiaries of NASA grants have equal opportunity, without regard to sex, to pursue, participate in, and benefit from academic research, career development opportunities, extracurricular, and other educational activities. The NASA review made findings of noncompliance. A Resolution Agreement has been entered into voluntarily by the university in order to bring the university into compliance with those aspects of Title IX identified in the compliance review. 

Updates

Tuesday, July 13, 2021
Title IX Action Plan Update
We continue to make progress in our responses to the Husch Blackwell recommendations. We have now completed 10 of the 18 recommendations, with major landmarks this month of adding staff to the Office of Civil Rights & Title IX, significant training in trauma informed practices for staff members involved with Title IX cases, and a revision of PM 73 that provides more clarity and specificity to our process when someone files a report. Download the updated Action Plan.


Friday, June 4, 2021
Progress on Husch Blackwell Recommendations

The Husch Blackwell report provided 18 clear recommendations, which are enumerated beginning on page 137 of the report and are updated with LSU’s current level of action in the Action Plan Progress Report


Thursday, April 29, 2021
Title IX Update

As we continue to implement our Title IX action plan and the recommendations made by Husch Blackwell, we want to share several important updates with you.

We understand the importance of having a Title IX Coordinator whose sole responsibility is to serve in that capacity on campus, and that’s why we have brought in Daniel Swinton to serve as Interim Title IX Coordinator.

Read the full message.


Monday, April 19, 2021

On Building Trust at LSU

We’re committed to building trust through our actions.

 

Saturday, April 10, 2021

Interim Vice President Jane Cassidy makes presentation to LSU Board of Supervisors

Jane Cassidy, Interim Vice President of Civil Rights & Title IX, presented "Response to the Husch Blackwell Report" to the LSU Board of Supervisors at its April 10 meeting.

Download Powerpoint

Download Text-only Version

Watch Presentation


Monday, April 5, 2021

Office of Civil Rights & Title IX Update from Interim President Galligan

When we shared the Husch Blackwell report with you one month ago, I promised that we would take immediate action to implement the recommendations in the report. Since then, we have deployed several measures that are already improving our response to sexual and domestic assault allegations, enhancing our support of survivors, and making our campus a safer place for everyone.

Read President Galligan's Message.


Monday, April 5, 2021
Q&A with Susan Bareis, Assistant Director of Wellness & Health Promotion and Coordinator of The Lighthouse Program at LSU

Through The Lighthouse Program, Susan Bareis is responsible for coordinating interpersonal violence prevention, support and resources for LSU students through the Office of Wellness and Health Promotion in the LSU Student Health Center. In addition, she oversees the Student Health Center’s rapid HIV testing program and provides campus-wide health education on topics impacting LSU students. Bareis has been working at LSU for seven years.

Read Q&A with Susan Bareis


Wednesday, March 24, 2021
LSU Begins Search for Civil Rights & Title IX Positions

The newly formed LSU Office of Civil Rights & Title IX is adding to its staff:

Interested candidates may learn more about these positions on the LSU Careers website.


Thursday, March 18, 2021
Q&A with Jane Cassidy, Interim Vice President of Civil Rights & Title IX

Jane Cassidy has been a part of the LSU family for 33 years. She was first hired in 1988 as an Assistant Professor in the School of Music. Since then, she has worked hard to forge relationships, conduct groundbreaking research and create change on campus. In her newest role as Interim Vice President for Civil Rights & Title IX, Cassidy will lead the campus to make LSU safer and stronger through changes to policies and procedures, and supporting survivors of domestic and sexual violence.

Read Q&A with Jane Cassidy

 


Wednesday, March 17, 2021
New Website for Sexual Assault Resources

Dear LSU Community,

Today, as mentioned in an earlier note from Interim President Tom Galligan, we are launching a new website that offers help and support to anyone who has been impacted by domestic or sexual violence. The site pulls together in one place the many different resources that are available to our LSU community, from medical and mental health services to the variety of reporting options that survivors can utilize.

The website contains information on confidentiality, advice for those who don’t know how to get help or what actions to take, and how to help a friend or coworker who may be going through trauma from domestic or sexual violence. The site also links to both on- and off-campus resources available to students and employees.  

Visit the Domestic & Sexual Assault Support & Reporting website.


Wednesday, March 17, 2021
Message from Interim President Galligan

When we received the Husch Blackwell report, we put together an action plan that, combined with steps we had already taken, would immediately improve the way LSU responds to sexual and domestic assault allegations – and ultimately make our community a safer place for everyone. 

Read President Galligan's message.


Monday, March 15, 2021
On Behalf of Jane Cassidy, Office of Civil Rights & Title IX

On our best days, LSU is a place where students come to live and learn in a safe and welcoming environment. Yet we have heard brave and painful testimonies of students who became victims and lost faith in our university to protect them. This is unacceptable. We now know with great clarity that our system to protect one another from sexual harassment and violence has failed, and we must act expeditiously to remediate the problem.

Read Jane Cassidy's message to campus.


Friday, March 5, 2021
Message from President Galligan

Today is a significant milestone from which we will forever measure our progress. During the LSU Board of Supervisors meeting, which begins at 10 a.m. this morning, Husch Blackwell will present the findings of their independent investigation of how LSU handled allegations of sexual and domestic assault in years past. The meeting will be live-streamed and available for viewing at lsu.edu/bos, and the report will be posted at lsu.edu/titleix-review following the presentation. I encourage you to watch the presentation (which will also be recorded and made available after the meeting) and read the report. At 148 pages, it is very comprehensive and detailed. After Husch Blackwell is done, we will hold a brief press conference, which will also be available via livestream at the same link.

Read full message.

 


Tuesday, March 2, 2021
Title IX review findings will be released Friday

On Friday, we will release the report by Husch Blackwell on LSU’s handling of sexual assault and violence cases, as well as the firm’s analysis of our Title IX policies and procedures.

Read full message.


February 8, 2021
Update on Title IX Review

Husch Blackwell, the firm retained to conduct an independent review of the university's overall Title IX reporting process, is inviting any students who would like to meet with them to do so either in a group or individual setting.

Husch Blackwell’s report is on track to be finalized in late February or early March, and it will be made public at that time. It will include an assessment of the cases reported on in the media, as well as an analysis of whether sexual and domestic assault allegations have been handled properly and consistently at LSU.

Read full message.


January 21, 2021
Sexual Trauma and Awareness Response (STAR)

LSU engages Sexual Trauma Awareness and Response (STAR) to:

  1. develop and provide training for LSU faculty and staff on how to respond to students who disclose dating and/or sexual violence with fairness, dignity, and respect, in accordance with their legal rights;
  2. review current training for LSU students on the dynamics and prevalence of dating and sexual violence, how to respond supportively to survivors, how to prevent and intervene in dating and sexual violence, and how to create a culture that does not tolerate sexual violence; and 
  3. identify ways to improve processes and services to support student survivors of dating and sexual violence.

November 25, 2020
Message from Interim President Galligan and AD Woodward

As part of our commitment to transparency, healing, and progress related to recent allegations about our handling of Title IX cases, we are writing to let you know about our ongoing efforts to make LSU a better, safer place.

Read full message.


November 19, 2020
Message from the President

I write to update you on our efforts to improve the handling of sexual violence and Title IX violations at LSU; including a complete list of resources available to survivors of sexual trauma and assault.

Read full message.


November 16, 2020
Response to Today’s News Article

Today, a news article portrayed LSU as an institution that is indifferent to allegations of abuse and sexual violence among students. Specifically, the article points to a number of allegations of misconduct from 2016 to 2018 that were allegedly ignored, dismissed outright or mishandled by coaches and university officials. I want to assure you that LSU takes every report of sexual assault or violence seriously. We investigate them thoroughly, support victims sensitively, and hold offenders accountable. However, we are not perfect, and we can, and will, do better. A single instance of abuse or sexual violence is one too many.
Read full message.