Science Diversity Committee 

The College of Science is committed to creating a diverse community of student, faculty, and staff. As part of that commitment, the College has formed a diversity committee comprised of representatives from the Museum of Natural Science and the departments of Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Geology & Geophysics, Mathematics, and Physics & Astronomy. This group researches and develops best practices and makes recommendations for actions that will increase diversity and diversity awareness among the College’s faculty and students.

Membership and Meetings: Two members from each department in the College serves on this committee, and the Dean of the College of Science can appoint up to three additional members. Members are nominated by the department chairs and appointed by the Dean for a two-year term that is staggered among the departmental representatives. Meetings are generally held twice a semester. A Chair of the committee will be selected by the committee from among those members serving in the second year of their term.

Charge: Members are a) to advocate for and promote diversity at the graduate, postdoctoral, faculty and staff levels in the College of Science of Louisiana State University, b) to serve as an advisory group to the Dean of the College of Science and, as appropriate, to other members of the administration, including Deans, Provosts, and President in areas related to diversity, and c) to recommend measures to increase diversity at every level in each of the College's departments in keeping with PS 55 and PS 1.

 

Phil Bart
Geology & Geophysics
Professor
pbart@lsu.edu
Term ends 2022
Christin Bibby
Mathematics
Assistant Professor
bibby@lsu.edu
Term ends 2022
Aynur Bulut
Mathematics
Assistant Professor
aynurbulut@lsu.edu
Term ends 2021
Joyoni Dey
Physics & Astronomy
Associate Professor
deyj@lsu.edu
Term ends 2022

 

Adam Forte
Geology & Geophysics
Assistant Professor
aforte8@lsu.edu
Term ends 2021
Jayne Garno, Ex Officio
Chemistry
Professor
jgarno@lsu.edu
Term ends 2020
Gary King
Biological Sciences
Professor
gking@lsu.edu
Term ends 2022
Revati Kumar
Chemistry
Assistant Professor
revatik@lsu.edu
Term ends 2021

 

Karen Maruska
Biological Sciences
Associate Professor
kmaruska@lsu.edu
Term ends 2021
Jorge Pullin
Physics & Astronomy
Professor
pullin@phys.lsu.edu
Term ends 2021
Fatima Rivas
Chemistry
Assistant Professor
frivas@lsu.edu
Term ends 2022 
Kevin Shreve
Mathematics
Assistant Professor
kschreve@lsu.edu
Term ends 2022

 

 

Cynthia Peterson
LSU College of Science Dean
cbpeterson@lsu.edu
Zakiya Wilson-Kennedy
Assistant Dean for Diversity & Inclusion
zwilson@lsu.edu