Graduate Groups | LSU Chemistry

Graduate Groups

National Organization for the Professional Advancement of Black Chemists and Chemical Engineers (NOBCChE)

The mission of the National Organization for the Professional Advancement of Black Chemists and Chemical Engineers (NOBCChE) is to build an eminent cadre of successful diverse global leaders in STEM and advance their professional endeavors by adding value to their academic, development, leadership, and philanthropic endeavors throughout the life-cycle of their careers. The local chapter of NOBCChE here at LSU is committed to upholding the national mission of the organization. We strive to establish a powerful and impactful presence here on campus as well as the surrounding community. We are dedicated to service and professional growth and development in those interested in and involved in any STEM field. NOBCChE has monthly meetings/social events to help you along your journey through graduate school, whether it's learning the best networking tips as a student or working on your mental health and stress management.

2021-2022 Council: 

President - Kelcy Hines
Vice President - Lucinda Boyd
Treasurer - Rasidah Ali
Recording Secretary - Leo Fontenot, Jr.
Corresponding Secretary - Chisom Egbejiogu
Historian - Suliat Alli
Parliamentarian - Daniel Babayode


Chemistry Graduate Student Council (CGSC)

CGSC is organized and operated by Chemistry graduate students whose mission is to assist chemistry graduate students. CGSC provides a variety of social activities during the year. CGSC also provides informational services to graduate students about department facilities and policies. Officers of CGSC are elected yearly by chemistry graduate students. Any LSUChemistry graduate student that has not previously been a member of CGSC is eligible for election to the council. The contact information for the current council is listed below. Feel free to contact any member with any questions or concerns you may have.

2020-2021 Council:

President - Elizabeth Thomas
Vice President - Courtney Baumberger
Secretary - Vanessa Hulse
Treasurer - Daniel Babayode
Historian - Fatimat Badmus