James G. Traynham Graduate Student Award for Excellence in Teaching and Research in Chemistry

James G. Traynham

James G. Traynham is a former Department Chair and VC for Research and Dean of the Graduate School.  To learn more about Professor Traynham, visit the following site:

The recipient of this award must be a full time graduate student at Louisiana State University and Agricultural and Mechanical College in the PhD degree program of the Department of Chemistry.  The recipient must have completed the general exam and have a distinguished record in teaching and research.  The recipient must possess the following attributes:

  • A record for excellence in teaching and research
  • A record that is indicative of a genuine interest in students
  • A cooperative relationship with other teaching assistants, faculty and staff
  • Demonstrated leadership with other teaching assistants, faculty and staff
  • Dedication to the pursuit of scholarly knowledge in course work and personal research

The original endowment for this award was organized by Professor Klaus Fischer, with contributions from former students and colleagues, in honor of Professor Jim Traynham.

The 2018 recipient of this award was Adam Bruner of the Lopata Group (pictured with Dr. James Traynham).

Adam Bruner with Dr. Jame Traynham

Previous recipients:

  • 2017    Mirza (Della) Saputra (Kartika Group)
  • 2016    Paulina Kolic (Warner Group)
  • 2015    Caitlin Ayala (Kartika Group)
  • 2014    Wei Bai (Spivak Group)
  • 2013    Brian Imsick (Nesterov Group)
  • 2012    Marsha Cole (Warner Group)
  • 2011    Sergio De Rooy (Warner Group)
  • 2010    Zorabel Lejeune (Garno Group)
  • 2009    Wilson Serem (Garno Group)
  • 2007    Ricky Nellas (Chen Group)
  • 2006    Michael Easson (Vicente Group)
  • 2005    Marcus Etienne (Hammer Group)
  • 2004    Bertha Valle (Warner Group)
  • 2003    Jed Aucoin (McCarley Group)
  • 2002    Hannah Farquar (Hammer Group)
  • 2001    Gerald Rathbone (Poliakoff Group)
  • 1999    Ted Gauthier (McLaughlin Group)
  • 1998    Charles Cantrell (Fischer Group)
  • 1997    James Flanagan, Jr (Soper Group)