Distinguished Research Master

2015 DRM Award Recipients

Left to right: LSU Vice President of Research & Economic Development Kalliat T. Valsaraj, CCT Director J. “Ram” Ramanujam, Rhetoric and Classical Studies Professor Michelle Zerba and Associate Vice President of Research & Economic Development Stephen David Beck. Photo Credit: Cody Willhite, LSU.

Since 1972, the Council on Research has presented the University-wide award of Distinguished Research Master in recognition of outstanding career accomplishments in research and scholarship.  The recipient is chosen by the Council from nominees proposed from the University community.

Nominations are solicited each Fall for review by the council in one of two categories:

  • Arts, Humanities, Social or Behavioral Sciences
  • Science, Technology, Engineering, or Mathematics

The award consists of the University Medal, a certificate designating the recipient as a Distinguished Research Master and a $2,500 annualized salary supplement. Recipients of the award will be notified in February following the nomination year.

Eligibility & Procedures

Any full professor (with the exception of a current Boyd Professor) is eligible for the Distinguished Research Master award.  The career awards are intended to recognize individuals with a long-term record typically seven (7) years or longer of truly distinguished research and scholarship while at LSU.

Nominations may come from any faculty member but must be submitted through the appropriate department chair/unit head and dean/director to the Council on Research.  All nomination packets should be contained in a single electronic file and organized in a manner consistent with the format provided in the nomination guidelines.