LSU University College’s Summer Scholars Honors 25th Anniversary Cohort, Aids Minority Students in Transitioning to College Life

Summer ScholarsBATON ROUGE – LSU University College’s Summer Scholars presented its annual “Celebration of Excellence” Closing Ceremony and Banquet on Friday, July 29, at The Club at LSU Union Square. University College awarded 10 book awards and two special recognition honors to the Class of 2016.

The closing ceremony and banquet enables students to share highlights from the summer program, as well as to reward the scholars on their academic achievements.

“The Class 2016 has been another successful experience for our newest Summer Scholars cohort,” said R. Paul Ivey, executive director of LSU University College. “These 32 students, who comprised the 25th anniversary year of scholars, have embraced the concepts of this program, and we expect to see each of them flourish in their academic careers at LSU. They join a family of more than 700 past participants who live by the mantra, ‘Once a Scholar, Always a Scholar.’ The program continues to create a tremendous impact on LSU and in the lives of our students.”

Administered by University College, Summer Scholars is an eight-week summer bridge program that prepares selected high-achieving, minority students to make a successful transition from high school to the university. This experience offers students the opportunity during the summer semester prior to their college freshman year to become adjusted to the academic, personal, and social challenges that they may encounter at LSU.

“One of the most amazing aspects of this program is the ability to observe the transformation from an insecure high school graduate to a self-confident college freshman,” said Annette Yancy, coordinator of Summer Scholars and academic counselor with University College’s Center for Freshman Year. “This transformation is made possible because of the many LSU resources made available to our students during the eight-week Summer Scholars program.”

“This year the Class of 2016 was thrilled to meet outstanding LSU Alum of the Year, Dr. Mario Garner. His example of excellence and his admiration for the 2016 cohort clearly demonstrates ‘Once a Scholar, Always a Scholar,’” Yancy added.

University College salutes these deserving LSU students in succeeding in their academic achievements, and expresses our gratitude to parents and friends for their continued support.

Chevron Scholars
Erica Bickham (Missouri City, Texas)
Taylor Brown (Baton Rouge, La.)
Cortney Brown (Baton Rouge, La.)
Alea Jones (Zachary, La.)
Alejandro Nunez (New Orleans, La.)
Michael Smith (Killeen, Texas)

Gold Book Award
Amber Anderson (Baton Rouge, La.)

Benson, Gilbert, Smith, Walker Book Award
Taylor Jiron (Church Point, La.)
Taurus Tolbert (Pineville, La.)

Antonio Cousin Book Award
Alan Lee II (Alexandria, La.)

Melissa Dillon-Dotson Book Award
Alejandro Nunez (New Orleans, La.)

Levar K. James Book Award
Tayler Pierre (Boutte, La.)

Nona Mack-Haynes Book Award
Jamarilyn Thomas (Arnaudville, La.)

Robin D. McMillan Book Award
Ariel Walker (Avondale, La.)

Beauford D. & Nicole Pines Book Award
Andre Nguyen (New Orleans, La.)
Ahah Williams (Vidalia, La.)

Special Presentation by Campus Federal Credit Union
Rashaad Cooper (Hammond, La.)
Lorenzo Price (Monroe, La.)

Summer Scholars Class of 2016 (Chevron Scholars denoted with asterisk)
Amber Anderson (Baton Rouge, La.)
Erica Bickham* (Missouri City, Texas)
Taylor Brown* (Baton Rouge, La.)
Cortney Brown* (Baton Rouge, La.)
Rashaad Cooper (Hammond, La.)
Benjamin Davis (Mechanicsburg, Pa.)
Stephen Davis (Mechanicsburg, Pa.)
Prince De Araujo Lobo (Slidell, La.)
Jaela Driver (Covington, La.)
Vachonna Durall (New Iberia, La.)
Dominique Green (Baton Rouge, La.)
Willie Hurst (Baton Rouge, La.)
Taylor Jiron (Church Point, La.)
Alea Jones* (Zachary, La.)
Alana Joyeux (Gonzales, La.)
Demetrius Lazard (Lafayette, La.)
Alan Lee II (Alexandria, La.)
Brianna Mouton (Lafayette, La.)
Andre Nguyen (New Orleans, La.)
Alejandro Nunez* (New Orleans, La.)
Tayler Pierre (Boutte, La.)
Lorenzo Price (Monroe, La.)
Heather Racca (New Iberia, La.)
Karla Rendon (Spring, Texas)
Hannah Richards (Saint Amant, La.)
Alero Simon (New Iberia, La.)
Kayla Smith (New Orleans, La.)
Michael Smith* (Killeen, Texas)
Ashley Sylvester (Baton Rouge, La.)
Jamarilyn Thomas (Arnaudville, La.)
Tarus Tolbert (Pineville, La.)
Ariel Walker (Avondale, La.)
Ajah Williams (Vidalia, La.)


Since 1933, LSU University College has served as the portal of entry for students enrolled at LSU.  Academic and personal success is the hallmark of a well-rounded student, and University College provides a foundation of support services for students beginning their academic careers at LSU.  University College has two enrollment divisions: The Center for Freshman Year and The Center for Advising and Counseling.  Additionally, University College offers retention-specific programs: Student Support Services, Ronald E. McNair Research Scholars, and Summer Scholars.  These academic support programs focus on particular student populations and are a significant part of the role and mission of University College.

For more information on LSU University College, visit or follow the conversation at




Contact Jacquelyn Craddock
University College


Ernie Ballard
LSU Media Relations