Forever LSU

The Campaign for
Louisiana State University

Outstanding LSU Seniors Named Tiger Twelve

BATON ROUGE – Twelve graduating seniors were recently named this year’s Tiger Twelve. Each spring, the Office of the Dean of Students recognizes twelve outstanding seniors who best demonstrate LSU’s Commitment to Community while achieving at least a 2.5 grade-point-average as current, full-time students.

This year, the following students best embodied the basic principles of LSU’s Commitment to Community:  Brittney K’Lyn Brettin, John Patrick Casey Jr., Hamilton Tyler D’Aquilla, John Michael Early III, Brian Chum Kim Goh, Luis Felipe Hencker Jr., Edwin Wendell Lee II, Jamie Maria Mascari, Michael Ryan Rhea, Chantal Amara San Miguel, Yunan Yuan and Annette Zacharia.

Brittney Brettin John Casey Hamilton D'Aquilla

Brettin is a mass communication major from Peachtree City, Ga. At LSU, she is vice president of administration for the Panhellenic Council, an executive board member of the Baptist Collegiate Ministry, a Manship Ambassador and a member of Zeta Tau Alpha sorority.  Brettin is also the founder of Benny’s Pennies.

Casey is a biological engineering major from Mandeville, La. He was named to the USA Today All-USA College Academic Second Team and awarded the Graduate Research Fellowship Program fellowship from the National Science Foundation. Casey is a co-founder of the Mandarin Association of Life and Language.

D’Aquilla is an international studies major, concentrating in Asia and France, from Woodville, Miss. He helps lead the Honors College FOCUS program, is an actor and writer with the St. Francisville Transitory Theatre and is a choreographer for “Of Moving Colors.”

John Early Brian Goh Luis Hencker

Early is a history and economics major from New Orleans. He has served as director for Songfest through the Greek Board of Directors, president of the Interfraternity Council, president of Sigma Chi Fraternity and captain of Blueprint Louisiana. In 2008, Early was selected as a finalist for the nationally competitive Truman Scholarship.

Goh is a biochemistry major from Baton Rouge, La. He was selected to the USA Today All-USA College Academic First Team. Goh is an executive officer of the Honors College, communications director for Volunteer LSU and the international director of Rotaract. He also volunteers as a Junior Assistant Scoutmaster with the Boy Scouts of America.

Hencker is a human resources education and leadership development major from Medellin, Columbia. He serves LSU, as well as the U.S., as a member of the Air Force ROTC “Flying Tigers,” as vice president of the Arnold Air Society, as president of the Pershin Rifles and as a youth minister and missionary with Christ the King Catholic Student Center.

Edwin Wendell Lee II Jamie Mascari Michael Rhea

Lee is an electrical and computer engineering major from Zachary, La. At LSU, Lee is president of the Phi Beta Sigma fraternity, a LA-STEM research scholar and a member of Leadership LSU. He also served LSU as the past treasurer of the LSU National Panhellenic Council.

Mascari is a dietetics major from New Orleans. She is president of the Student Dietetic Association, a volunteer note-taker for the Office of Disability Services and a volunteer for the Student Health Center. Mascari also served as captain of the LSU Cheerleading Team for the past three years.

Rhea is an international studies and political science major from DeRidder, La. He was named to the USA Today All-USA College Academic Second Team. Rhea is a student director of Volunteer LSU, a member of Leadership LSU and a Corps leader for the LSU Emergency Operations Center.

Chantal San Miguel Yunan Yuan Annette Zacharia

San Miguel is a biological sciences and liberal arts, or art history, major from New Orleans. She is a Rotary Ambassadorial Scholar to Paris, a member of Omicron Delta Kappa and a member of the Honors College Advocates. San Miguel is also the president and founder of the Anatomy Club of LSU and AIDS R.E.A.C.H.

Yuan is an engineering major from Jinan, of the Shandong Province in China. Yuan is head of external affairs for the Chinese Students and Scholars Association and on the executive board of the Society of Woman Engineers. She was the solicitor general for Student Government and a member of the Leadership LSU class.

Zacharia is a biological sciences major from Ponchatoula, La.  She is an active member of Alpha Epsilon Delta, LSU Best Buddies, the Student Activities Board and the Indian Student Organization.

LSU is a community of students, staff and faculty that strives to uphold the highest standards of performance academically and socially. Seven years ago, Tiger Twelve was started to annually honor 12 graduating students who proudly embody the seven principles behind the Commitment to Community. Some of those principles that keep LSU thriving include:

  • respecting the dignity of all persons and accepting individual differences
  • respecting the environment and the rights and property of others and the university
  • contributing positively to the life of the campus and surrounding community

On May 5, 1995, LSU adopted the principles as a “Statement of University Position.”

Hoaidiep Tran | Writer | Office of Communications & University Relations
May 2009