LSU Department of Accounting Hosts Annual Awards Banquet

May 9, 2016

BATON ROUGE – More than 40 students were presented with scholarships in recognition of their academic accomplishments at the Department of Accounting’s annual awards banquet on Thursday, April 21.

Additionally, Assistant Professor Jared Soileau was given the Vincent C. Brenner Award, presented annually to the untenured faculty member who has been most productive in academic research.

Assistant Professor Norman Massel was named Outstanding Teacher, an award given to a faculty member dedicated to excellence in classroom instruction and who demonstrates commitment to furthering the instruction mission of the Department of Accounting.

Beta Alpha Psi, an honorary accounting organization for financial information students and professionals, presented its recognition awards to Katherine Dugas (Baton Rouge), Outstanding Member; Kyle Poulicek (Baton Rouge), Outstanding Candidate; Rachel Green (Baton Rouge), Outstanding Service; and Kaitlin Kemmerly (Beaumont, Texas), Outstanding Officer.

The following student scholarships were presented at the banquet:

$2,000 PricewaterhouseCoopers Scholarships
Tim Barkley – Slidell
Maria Rodriguez – Destrehan

$2,000 Chevron Scholarship
Mallory Ham – Melville

$1,900 Marathon Oil Corporation Scholarships
Camille Beck – Baton Rouge
Saolam Nguyen – Lacombe

$1,658 Becker Professional Education Certificate
Candace Lantier – Rayne

$1,500 Grant Thornton Scholarship
Matthew Schulze – Pewaukee, Wis.

$1,000 Baton Rouge Society of Louisiana CPAs Scholarships
Haley Barlow – Lake Charles
Brett Pellegrin – Houma

$1,000 Deloitte Scholarships
Kaleb Huckeba – Baton Rouge
Francis Roy – Thibodaux

$1,000 William “Bill” Clayton Potter Sr. Endowed Scholarship Fund
Hailey Osbon – Covington

$1,000 Faulk & Winkler Scholarships
Trevor Schott – Mandeville
Meredith Witty – Ventress

$1,000 Ernst & Young Scholarships​
Harrison Cutrera – Metairie
Eleanor Gilbert – Minden

$1,000 Hannis T. Bourgeois LLP Scholarships
(audit) Crystal Rankin – Greenwell Springs
(tax) Paige Misuraca – Baton Rouge

$1,000 Postlethwaite & Netterville Scholarships
(audit) Kayla Quinlan – Prairieville
(tax) Dylan Perez – Covington

$1,000 KPMG Scholarship
Christine O’Brien – Harahan

$1,000 KPMG Graduate Student Scholarships
Hannah Beiser – Baton Rouge
Ethan Collins – Prairieville
Samuel Phillips – Ruston

$1,000 Doyle Williams Award
Yuqing Lu – Baton Rouge

$1,000 James M. Owen Memorial Scholarship
Erin Kilpatrick – Baton Rouge

$1,000 Texas Tiger Tourney Scholarship
Madeline Blank – Mandeville

$1,000 Wegmann Dazet & Company Scholarship
Mattie Brumfield – Zachary

$1,000 ExxonMobil Scholarship
Laura Alford – Natchitoches

$1,000 Lloyd Morrison Award Fund
Jung Eun “JP” Park – Baton Rouge

$1,000 H. Sami Ph.D. Student Scholarship
Pradeep Sapkota – Baton Rouge

LCPA Education Foundation Scholarships
($1,000 Graduate) Danielle Lazerson – Baton Rouge
($750 Undergraduate) Samuel Phillips – Ruston
($500 Undergraduate) Danielle Jasper – Baton Rouge

$950 Crowe Horwath LLP Outstanding Accounting Student Scholarships
Beverly Perkins – Metairie
Victoria Rushing – Sicily Island

$800 Thomas Brian Phillips Endowed Scholarship
Ashleigh Jones – Gonzales

$750 Association of Government Accountants (AGA) – Baton Rouge Chapter Scholarships
Austin DeLaune – Plauemine
Megan Manno – Houma

$750 George Jarvis Williams Scholarship
Amber Tran – Livonia

$750 H.J. “Monday” Lowe Endowed Scholarship
Ellie Bowen – Shreveport

$500 Auguste Goronzy Scholarship
Kelli Wiessenberg – Baton Rouge

$500 LaPorte Scholarship
Allison Ulfers – Metairie

$500 Lucille G. Terrell Memorial Scholarship
Tranika Strauder – Kenner

$400 Lonnie H. Bearry Scholarship
Sarah Sonnier – Pride

$350 Clarence L. Dunn Endowed Scholarship
William Bell – Shreveport

About the Department of Accounting
The Department of Accounting at LSU’s E. J. Ourso College of Business strives for excellence in teaching, research and service to the accounting profession. With a mission of producing graduates at all levels who excel in their pursuits, the department offers undergraduate and graduate programs that prepare students for careers in various fields, including industry, auditing, finance, government and academia. For more information, visit our home page, call 225-578-6202, or email

“Like” us on Facebook (LSUOursoCollege) or follow us on Twitter (@lsuoursocollege).​


Angela McBride
LSU E. J. Ourso College of Business