Department of Accounting Hosts Annual Awards Banquet

​Acco​unting Chair Thomas J. Phillips addresses the audience at the awards banquet.

​Acco​unting Chair Thomas J. Phillips addresses the audience at the awards banquet.

April 30, 2015

BATON ROUGE – The LSU E. J. Ourso College of Business Department of Accounting held its annual awards banquet Thursday, April 23 to recognize the achievements of its students and faculty.

More than 40 students were presented with scholarships in recognition of their academic accomplishments. Additionally, Claire Dillard was recognized as an LSU Distinguished Communicator and a team of five students were honored as the LSU Campus Champion Team in PricewaterhouseCoopers’ 2014 Extreme Accounting Competition. The winning team included Stephen Barber, Mattie Brumfield, Matthew Ledet, Victoria Lotz and Kylie Richard.

Elizabeth Johnson, Andrew Dong Li and Pei-Yu Sun were recognized as graduating PhD students for the 2014-2015 academic year.

Jared Soileau was given the Vince Brenner Award, presented annually to the untenured faculty member who has been most productive in academic research.

Christine Cheng was named Outstanding Teacher, an award given to a faculty member dedicated to excellence in classroom instruction and who demonstrates commitment to furthering the instruction mission of the Department of Accounting.

Marathon Oil was also recognized for their sponsorship of the Petroleum Accounting Course. Each year, the company donates $10,000 to fund the petroleum accounting course taught each fall. The course is a vital part of the college’s new Energize Business Initiative, which seeks, in part, to educate students on the energy industry.

The Society of Louisiana CPAs (LCPA) handed out $750 each to Nichole Exnicios, Chen Liu and Alysha Meadors as part of its LCPA Awards.

The following student scholarships were presented at the banquet:

$2,000 Pricewaterhouse Scholarship
Outstanding junior – Samuel Phillips
Outstanding sophomore – Hannah Estopinal

$2,000 Chevron Scholarship
Ashlyn Blanchard

$1,900 Marathon Oil Corporation Scholarships
Madeline Blank
Emily Schexnaydre

$1,658 Becker Professional Education Certificate
Taylor Landry

$1,200 James M. Owen Memorial Scholarship
Kevin Branley

$1,200 Grant Thornton Scholarship
Harrison Cutrera

$1,000 Baton Rouge Society of Louisiana CPAs Scholarship
Dylan Perez

$1,000 Deloitte Scholarship
Trevor Schott

$1,000 William “Bill” Clayton Potter Sr. Endowed Scholarship Fund
Aditi Namjoshi

$1,000 Marathon Petroleum Scholarship
Megan Manno

$1,000 Ernst & Young Scholarships
Alexa Alexander
Tegan Billiot

$1,000 Faulk & Winkler Scholarships
Accounting senior who received award as junior – Ashley Nerin
Accounting junior – Brooke Orso

$1,000 Postlethwaite & Netterville Auditing Scholarship
Ethan Collins

$1,000 Postlethwaite & Netterville Tax Scholarship
Ellie Bowen

$1,000 KPMG Scholarships – Outstanding undergraduates entering the master’s program
Chancellor Boudreaux
Emily Groce
Rebecca Thiberville

$1,000 KPMG Scholarship
Outstanding junior – Ashton Heinz

$1,000 Doyle Williams Award
Danielle Wetzel

$1,000 Wegmann, Dazet & Company Scholarship
Caroline Enright

$1,000 ExxonMobil Scholarship
Stephanie Merrell

$1,000 Lloyd Morrison Award Fund
Elizabeth Johnson

$1,000 H. Sami PhD Student Scholarship
JP Park

$900 Texas Tiger Tourney Scholarship
Randi Hines

$800 Thomas Brian Phillips Endowed Scholarship
Eleni Alleman

$750 Association of Government Accountants – Baton Rouge Chapter Scholarships
Kathryn Denton
Hannah Beiser

$750 George Jarvis Williams Scholarship
Danielle Jasper

$750 H.J. “Monday” Lowe Endowed Scholarship
Ashleigh Jones

$500 Hannis T. Bourgeois LLP Scholarships
Junior/senior interested in tax – Katrina Harrell
Junior/senior interested in external audit – Victoria Lovisa

$500 LaPorte Sehrt Romig Hand Scholarship
Jingying Zhao

$500 Auguste Goronzy Scholarship
Brittany Schneck

$500 Lucille G. Terrell Memorial Scholarship
Kearia McCants

$400 Lonnie H. Bearry Scholarship
James Wi-Afedzi

$350 Clarence L. Dunn Endowed Scholarship
Stephanie Klupper

The Department of Accounting at LSU’s E. J. Ourso College of Business strives for excellence in teaching, research and service to the accounting profession. With a mission of producing graduates at all levels who excel in their pursuits, the department offers undergraduate and graduate programs that prepare students for careers in various fields, including industry, auditing, finance, government and academia. For more information, visit our home page, call 225-578-6202, or email

“Like” us on Facebook (LSUOursoCollege) or follow us on Twitter (@lsuoursocollege).​​​​​​​​​


Angela McBride
LSU E. J. Ourso College of Business