University Student Leadership Cabinet

The University Student Leadership Cabinet is a diverse group of student leaders from all avenues of campus life. 

Student members are nominated by university faculty, staff and administrators for an application and selection process. Membership is determined in September each fall, and meetings follow every three weeks during the academic year.  The group is facilitated by Dr. Kurt Keppler, Vice President of Student Affairs, and Emily Hester, Assistant to the Vice President.

Members select discussion topics and focus on important campus issues.  Expert panelists and speakers from across LSU are invited to participate in the discussions. This fall topics included:

  • Staying in Touch with Current Events -- a discussion moderated by Dr. Jonathan Earle, Dean of Ogden Honors College
  • Campus Safety -- a panel including Dr. Mari Fuentes-Martin, Dean of Students; Bart Thompson, Chief of Police; and Jake Palmer, Manager of the LSU Emergency Operations Center
  • Mental Health Issues on College Campuses -- a panel including Dr. John Otzenberger, Director of Mental Health Services; Tracy Blanchard, CARE Team Manager; and Natalie Thibodeaux, Student Health Center Case Manager

The first meeting of the spring semester will be held Tuesday, January 23 at 4:30 p.m. in the Olinde Career Center. President F. King Alexander will join the group for dialogue and discussion. 

Photo: group of students serving in university student leadership cabinet 2017-18

2017-18 Membership

Name Major Hometown
Jason Badeaux Economics Alexandria, LA
Morgan Bell
Human Resource
Baton Rouge, LA
Dependra Bhatta Agricultural Economics Baton Rouge, LA
Margaret Broussard Interdisciplinary Studies Baton Rouge, LA
Andrew Chenevert Accounting Baton Rouge, LA
Cierra Chenier Political Science New Orleans, LA
Devon Clancy Psychology; History Basking Ridge, NJ
Sarah Cohen Biochemistry; Sociology New Orleans, LA
Lukas Dretzka Industrial Engineering Los Angeles, CA
Taylor Dunn
(Fitness Studies)
Destrehan, LA
Camille Flint English Literature Memphis, TN
Garyn Grace Accounting Superior, CO
Shane Henry Accounting Ashland, VA
Jeanne Marie Hidalgo
Digital Advertising;
Business Administration
Berwick, LA
Madison Hopper Kinesiology DeRidder, LA
Kire Jackson Business Management McKinney, TX
Emily Rose Johnson Marketing Bethany, CT
Nash Joyner Political Science Zachary, LA
Alyssa Kaigler Kinesiology Houma, LA
Douglas Laiche Communication Studies Denham Springs, LA
David Lehman Economics Baton Rouge, LA
Stewart Lockett Biological Engineering New Iberia, LA
Megan Manno Accounting Houma, LA
Heaven Mathis Psychology Metairie, LA
Tyler McMorris
Information Systems &
Decision Sciences
Livingston, LA
James Mickler Microbiology New Orleans, LA
Secret Morris Communication Studies New Orleans, LA
Brent Neal Civil Engineering Covington, LA
Anesha Pink
Mass Comm/
Political Communication
Pearland, TX
KirbyAnne Plessala Biological Sciences Mobile, AL
Kamryn Porter Kinesiology Mobile, AL
Dearica Richard Psychology Alexandria, LA
Emilie Robillard
Early Childhood
Denham Springs, LA
Devon Sanders
Mass Comm/
Political Communication
Houston, TX
Leah Sanders Petroleum Engineering Jackson, TN
Kirstie Schexnaydre Interior Design Ama, LA
Jordan Smith Theatre/Film &TV Baton Rouge, LA
Windy Steele Mass Comm/PR Shreveport, LA
Sidney Thomas Psychology Natchitoches, LA
Mason Tusa Management River Ridge, LA
Alex Williams History Belle Chasse, LA
Aeryel Williams
Higher Education
Administration, PhD
Los Angeles, CA
Patrick Yancey Petroleum Engineering Houma, LA